Posted in Ramblings

How to enjoy your Valentine’s Day when single

Sometimes, I think I should go for the Guinness Book of World Records. I’m turning 25, and I’ve been single for every Valentine’s Day.

Before you say “Oh, poor Emily! It’s so sad how she’s always single on Valentine’s Day!” Don’t.

I love the idea of being loved. I love to love, and I love to be loved. I know there are many ways of experiencing love besides being in a relationship. For example, I experience it every time I bite into a hot and cheesy pizza slice.

I’m just annoyed with the marketing that either focuses on the pressure to be in a relationship or that focuses on feeling petty just because you are single.

That being said, I love the cheesy red bears with the hearts and the abundance of flowers and the colour pink everywhere. Also, if someone does something nice for their partner on Valentine’s Day or any other time of year, I think it’s sweet.

I’m not sure if I’m a hopeless romantic or a hopeless hypocrite.

Either way,  I thought I’d give some advice on how to make your Valentine’s Day semi-decent if you’re single.

I was going to do a list of all the things you can do, but ultimately, it boils down to just enjoying it and not overthinking your relationship status.

It’s easier said than done, believe me. When you see your friends clicking with their partners and talking about all of their wonderful memories together, it’s possible to feel one of three reactions:

Ridiculously happy for them

It’s as if you’re somehow living vicariously through their relationship, which is kind of creepy, now that I think about it.

Self-pity

You might ask yourself questions such as such as “I want a boyfriend!” and “Why can’t that be me? I’m cute and I make delicious pancakes!”

Seriously. I have said this when I would whine about being single.

A combination of both happiness and pity  

You feel the giddiness from your friend and their relationship, but if you’ve spent most of your life single, you just wish you had someone like that in your life.

My mom always said, “Valentine’s Day is also about love for your family, love for your pet, etc.,” and as much as I agree with her, I would kind of let it go beneath me knowing most people of romantic love when they hear “Valentine’s Day.” I also had to study for midterms around that time of year as well, so I was not in the mood to think about my lack of love life.

However, if you focus on spending Valentine’s Day with other people who care about you, then it’s not so bad. Whether it’s watching “Deadpool,”  going out dancing, camping in the winter, or having a Galentine’s  Day while eating a bunch of junk food and listening to Taylor Swift, you’ll be in a much better mood than you would be moping around about your single life.

Yes, I have done all of these things for my Valentine’s Days, and I look back on those events fondly.

If you feel that this Valentine’s Day is going to suck, do something you know makes you happy. Binge watch Netflix, buy all the chocolate you can, pop a bath bomb in your tub, blast your favourite music and get on with your day.

Finally, remind yourself that there are more ways to experience love besides being in a relationship with somebody. You can easily experience love by treating yourself to something you enjoy.

 

 

Author:

Freelance writer fuelled on caffeine.

Leave a Reply

