Posted in Ramblings

Explaining my 2017 Goals

I kind of hate this title, to be honest. My biggest lesson in 2016 was that I don’t have to tell every single person every single thing that has ever happened to me. I am still bad with oversharing, and probably will be, but I also feel like I shouldn’t have to justify my actions or my circumstances just because someone else feels it’s not the way they live their life.

If you follow me on Instagram (@emilywritesalot), you probably saw my resolutions already on when I was doing the Night Eyes Countdown to 2017, which I didn’t end up finishing. I made three goals: Send my novel to a publishing company, try downhill skiing, and take better care of myself.

I thought I’d explain why I want to meet these goals this year.

Downhill Skiing, heck, even Cross Country Skiing

I haven’t done it. I know, I know. I should have done it long ago. I am Canadian, after all.

It’s not like I didn’t have the chance, I just didn’t take it. We had ski trips when I was in Grades Seven and Eight, but I was allowed to skip them.

My visual perception disorder, which is part of my overall learning disability, makes me clumsy. I’m less clumsy than I used to be, but I’m also more careful because I know I am accident prone. My teacher at the time thought I’d be frustrated during the trip and not have any fun, and he was probably right.

Then again, if you said I could pick between staying at home with an adorable golden retriever or spending the day failing at skiing and having classmates at me, it’s kind of obvious which option I’d pick.

Now? I want to try it.

Even if all I do this year is go down the Bunny Hill, that’s good enough for me.

Sending my novel off to a publishing company

I took about a month or so away from this novel before I got back into it today. It probably hasn’t been that long, in all honesty, but I had plans to finish it before 2017 and that just didn’t happen. I am almost done the first draft, which I know will be followed by long nights of editing.

I’d love to see this become a best-seller, but writers who tell you they don’t care how many copies they sell are lying, let’s be real.

As much as I’d love to see this grow and have a Netflix spinoff and its own line of shirts at Hot Topic-yes, I have thought a lot about this-I won’t know how it’ll sell until it is published.

I’ve looked into self-publishing options as well, but I figure that sending my manuscript off to a company is the first step into seeing your book on the shelves in shops, which has been a dream of mine ever since I was 12.

Also, I’m clueless about this stuff so if anyone with tips for publishing is reading this, please tell me!

Taking better care of myself

I’m sure many people are eye-rolling about this, because who hasn’t made fitness resolutions, or other ones tied to your health and ultimately didn’t stick to your word?

C’mon raise your hand. I’ll raise mine if everyone else is too chicken to do it.

I set this particular one because I have done a terrible job at self-care this past year and a half. There are nights where I feel like I have no choice but to stay up and write. I find I’m a better writer at night anyway, but there are other things that I can change.

I’m working on keeping track of what I’m eating again and getting back to doing stationary bike rides. This is mainly due to the fact I gained a lot of weight in 2016, and I’d like to leave that behind in 2016, where it belongs.

That being said, it’s also tied to my issues with anxiety and stress management. If I blare music or play Pokémon for 20 minutes or so while on the bike, it gives me some alone time where I can just shut myself away from everything and just concentrate on the music.

I just loved the rush I got after from running, back when I did it, so I’m focusing on the stress management part more than anything else.

Also, before any of you think that I’m getting into a bike accident while playing Pokémon, remember the key word is stationary, meaning that while my feet are pedaling, the bike will stay put. Additionally, it’s dangerous to ride your bike indoors. Didn’t Professor Oak teach you anything? Gosh.

Of course, I have other methods, including colouring, reading, and aromatherapy that reduce my feelings of anxiety, which is something I’m trying to work on not only for this year, but for the rest of my life.

I’ve had some things happen in my personal life that weighed me down in the past year and a half. I’ve felt negative when I know I should be feeling happy. I’ve exploded about things that are probably not going to be a big deal in five years, but felt like were major issues at the time. I felt like I was behind on life, despite the fact that I’m a writer and I graduated college with great marks, when I became the student and the person that I never thought I’d be a decade ago.

I posted something like this on my personal Instagram (@_estew) and Facebook, saying I was done with negative feelings for good, but then life happened and I became pessimistic about a lot of things again. I had a lot of happy days after that post, mind you, but as I’m sure as a lot of you know, it is way too easy to let the bad outweigh the good.

That’s not to say that I’ll never feel negative again, because we all have our bad days, but I feel like if I took better care of myself in every way possible, by getting healthier, treating myself when I know I deserve it, taking some time out of my day to wind down and reminding myself that I am stronger than I think I am, I can better manage stress and anxiety.

Don’t worry. This won’t be part of the whole “New Year New Me” B.S. I’m sure you’re all sick of reading about on social media. I will still be sassy and nerdy. I’ll just be a better version of my sassy and nerdy self by 2018.

What are some of your New Year’s Resolutions? Do you think New Year’s Resolutions are B.S.? Do you think Mine Are B.S.?

If the answer to the third question is “Yes”, then please keep your comments to yourself, because I don’t need that kind of negativity in my life right now. Thank you.

Otherwise, let me know!

Author:

Freelance writer fuelled on caffeine.

Leave a Reply

