Posted in creative writing

Happy NaNoWriMo: A novel update

For those of you who don’t know, it’s National Novel Writing Month. Writers will try to write 50,000 words of a story from November 1st to November 30. While people often sign up on the official website and keep track of their word count, I haven’t done that.

Why? I’m an “unofficial” participant, so to speak. I feel like NaNoWriMo is more of something for writers to flesh out a new project. I, on the other hand, am taking advantage of it to finish my novel. After all, I have been wanting to finish it for five years.

I will likely sign up for Camp NaNoWriMo, the July edition of the event, for a new story, that being said.

With NaNoWriMo, I thought I’d also post an update about my novel. It’s now sitting at 94,611 words. I know. I’m amazed myself, especially since I wanted to cry when writing 10 page essays in university.

It’s still all over the place, though coming together, and I still feel like it needs more to it. I had another goal in mind, to finish 37,500 words or so before 2017 hits. I have 13,209 left to go, but I’ll be honest and say I started losing track, so I’m probably farther along than I thought.

Anyway, my goal is to write an ambitious 63,209 words by the end of November at the earliest. I’ll aim for 50,000 words for sure, but anything I don’t end up writing I’ll just finish in December.

I’ve taken the Page A Day pledge by Author’s Publish, so as long as I meet that, I’m fine.

To keep track, I’m using Instagram to post how much I wrote that day and how I’m feeling about my progress. You can follow @emilywritesalot to see my updates!

Oh, and follow my other account @_estew if you want. You know, if you like pictures of dogs and want to see what I do outside of writing.

What are your plans for NaNoWriMo? Have you done it before? What did you think of the experience? Let me know by commenting!

Author:

Freelance writer fuelled on caffeine.

One thought on “Happy NaNoWriMo: A novel update

Leave a Reply

