Posted in Ramblings

How I feel about bandwagons, and why it takes me so long to jump on them

I just started the first season of “Gilmore Girls”, because it’s been something I’ve been meaning to do for a while before they announced the special on Netflix. One of my friends and I agreed that I’ll watch “Gilmore Girls” if she watches “Frozen”.

How I feel about the show is how I feel about everything else I check out much later than I should have; I love it, I feel like I’m a combination of both Loreleis, and holy guacamole, why did I wait so long to watch “Gilmore Girls”?

I’m probably going to deal with people who say “Oh, you’re only watching this because everyone’s freaking out about the Netflix special!”, and that’s OK with me, because this isn’t the first time something like this happened. I’m sure there are many who never watched a “Gilmore Girls” episode in their life, but want to just to see the excitement.

Also, I’d rather see why so many people jump on the fan bandwagon than just close myself off from it and join the bandwagon of haters.

I didn’t finish reading the “Harry Potter” books until I was in university, I listen to Panic! At the Disco more often now than when I was in Grade Nine and “I Write Sins Not Tragedies” was on plenty of iPods. I watched “The Fault in Our Stars” the year after it came out in theaters. I started reading the “One Piece” series last year, and I have about 78 more manga volumes to read as I write this.

Why did I wait so long? Well, simply because I had other media that I was obsessed with and kept all that at the back of my head.

I’m a curious person. I have to be as a journalist who also wants to be a novelist. I need to be as a writer. While I still listen to bands that I’ve listened to for years, I’m willing to check out what’s trending. I’ll be on YouTube for breaks, so if something seems interesting, I’ll check it out.It’s how I found a lot of music that I enjoy.

I’ll also check something out if a lot of people are talking about it.  Who knows what kinds of stories I’ll cover as a journalist? If it’s something trendy, I should at least know what it is, but like with anyone else, there are some things that just don’t interest me.

There are some reactions to bandwagons. You either hop on one right away, and leave when everyone else does, or you say that you would never hop on it, but you know you will, or you refuse to hop on it and just move on with your life.

I am probably the 1% that will just check it out when I have the time to do so, but either way, I don’t think checking out something is a bad thing if you’re genuinely interested.

As someone with a Bachelor of Arts in Media, Information and Technoculture (MIT), I was taught to think critically about mainstream media. There were times where I refused to get into something just because it’s popular.

Now, if something doesn’t appeal to me, I try to see why some people might like it. I could talk about everything I that I think is stupid on social media, but I don’t because I’m better than that.

I do see a problem if people only like something because it’s so popular, and then hate it as soon as it’s off the radar, especially with music. Honestly, no one but yourself is preventing you from engaging with whatever entertainment media you genuinely like. If no one else listens to it after their peak of popularity, oh well. You get to enjoy it all by yourself, and honestly, that’s not a bad thing.

That being said,  people who think “Oh, this is what’s popular with the kids these days! I’m going to trash it!” are more problematic.

The unfortunate reality is that there are plenty of people who will hate on something for no reason, but doing that is just joining the bandwagon of haters, which is really not better than joining the bandwagon of fans. It’s worse because you’re not giving yourself the chance to check it out.

It’s OK to dislike something, of course, but there’s a big difference between hating it and moving on with your life with things you do enjoy, and talking about how much you hate it, to the point where people wonder if you secretly like it.

Either way, if you’re interested in checking out something, go for it. If it doesn’t appeal to you, ignore it and move on. If it appeals to you, regardless if everyone else likes it or not, just enjoy it and never feel embarrassed about it.

Featured image courtesy of Wetpaint.com

Author:

Freelance writer fuelled on caffeine.

Leave a Reply

