Posted in Ramblings

Dear Writer’s Block, it’s not you, it’s me

Dear Writer’s Block,

It’s not you, it’s me. See how much our relationship has put a strain on my performance? I’m writing in clichés. This is sillier than a monkey on a unicycle.

Anyway, enough with the clichés and similes. I’m done. I feel unhappy with our relationship. It just weighs me down and makes me feel guilty and unproductive. This novel I’m writing will not finish by itself. You know it, I know it. I’m sure the strangers on the internet who will read this break up letter will agree with me.

It’s been my dream to publish a novel, ever since I was 12 years old. I am 24 now. I have written a lot of material, and I’m proud of that. After all, my blog is called “Emily Writes A lot”, not “Emily Never Writes”.

Granted, I have done a lot of writing projects outside of my novel, which is one of the reasons why my novel has been pushed back. However, it’s not like I don’t think about my writing all the time. I literally think about it all the time. Well that, Pokémon, and what I want to eat for lunch.

However, you have blocked me from pursuing my goals. Every time I get to the computer, after my head was flowing like a waterfall with ideas, you tell me “You have no ideas! I’m going to make you forget everything! Here, watch some YouTube videos while you try to ‘work’. Oh wait, an hour’s gone and you wasted 60 minutes of your life on YouTube, again, you sad little college grad.”

I’m done with that. I am pulling the plug. Cutting the rope. Showing you the door. Do I need to go on? How many ways can I say that we’ve broken up?

We are done. Goodbye. Au Revoir. Sayonara. Aidios. Aloha.

Sincerely,

Emily who will continue to write a lot

Credit to WritersLife.org on Facebook for this prompt! 

 

Author:

Freelance writer fuelled on caffeine.

Leave a Reply

