Posted in creative writing, Ramblings

Update on creative writing pledge

 

Hello, everyone!

Hope you had a happy Sunday! It’s been two weeks since I pledged to write 126 pages by Labour Day Weekend, so I thought I would update.

So far, it’s going by way faster than I thought. I set the goal so I could have it as one page a day. However, my problem, or blessing, depending how you look at it, is that once I finish a page, I want to write more. There was one day where I only wrote one page a day, because I felt uninspired, but I write about five or more pages a day, depending on the flow.

So far, I wrote about 72 pages. That’s about two months of writing that I had planned finished in two weeks. Given the fact my longest article for this year was a little over a thousand words, it’s clearly different than what I’m used to on the journalism side.

Without giving too much away, I will say that there’s plenty of punchy dialogue in this story. Anyone who knows me on a personal level, as a friend, family member or classmate, knows that while I appear pretty reserved at first, I’m a bit of a sassy pants when I want to be. The nice thing about this is no one can tell me to tone down the sass, but me.

I’ve also been printing off the project as I go along, which excites and terrifies me at the same time. It’s great to see it come to life, but I also notice grammar and spelling mistakes all the time when I read it out loud. I often reassure myself that Ernest Hemingway said that first drafts are supposed to be awful.

However, because I went through six years of post-secondary education to improve my writing, finding such a mistake is just as embarrassing as showing up for your middle school picture day with a giant zit.

I’m trying not to beat myself up about it, however, and I know I can just do major editing afterwards with a red pen and a big cup of tea once I finish the first draft.

I hope to keep this blog as a weekly thing, with updates on how this is going. However, if I want to have a different post for that week, then I will.

If you want more updates on my writing, subscribe to this blog and follow me on Instagram and Twitter!

 

Author:

Freelance writer fuelled on caffeine.

Leave a Reply

