Posted in Uncategorized

The Legend of Zelda and New Year’s Resolutions

A white legend of zelda triforce, made up of three triangles joined together, with wings underneath on a black background

First of all, I would like to say the name of the post is actually from something I meant to publish in January. This should be an indication of my procrastination habits when I’m not working.

Second of all, I know there’s still a few days of 2015 left, but this is still a time of reflection for me. Like anyone else, I think about how the whole year flew by, and what I want to do in the future. I also pick a resolution or two for the upcoming year.

However, like most resolutions, I don’t follow through on them; That’s why I’m writing a post about it.

My resolution for 2014 was to see films as soon as they arrive in theatres. That year, I saw “Frozen” in April and “Guardians of the Galaxy” in November, both at second-run film theatres that play movies just as they leave all of the regular cinema houses.

I tried; This year was similar. I had an ambitious goal of completing every single “Legend of Zelda” game I started. I got a new Zelda game, sure, but I haven’t completed a single one.

I know that many others have had this dilemma too. They either want to lose weight, travel more and/or complete something important that they’ve been putting off. They screw up during the first month or so, and they ultimately give up.

I’ve been there many times. There were things I’ve been planning to do, that every year I tell myself I’m going to finally tick off my bucket list for good.

There  are times, especially during these past five years of my post-secondary journey, where I feel disappointed  didn’t get some things done.

As much as I have to take my own advice, all you can do is move on and get back on track. For example, I’ll go through periods of exercising and then not exercising, but I know starting small is the way to go, such as light strength training and a bit of cardio, usually a 20 minute ride on the stationary bike.

Overall, I had a good year, because I got a full-time journalism job in the summer and a freelancing newspaper job both through my college this year and I told many stories I never thought I’d tell when I rang in the new year. There were some bumps along the way, but that happens every year, and I plan to move on.

When it comes to setting goals you want to accomplish within 12 months, the worst thing you can do is dwell on it. Instead, look forward to the future and plan to move forward in a positive way.

Also, if you’re wondering what my New Years resolution for 2016 is, it’s to stop setting unrealistic goals.

Author:

Freelance writer fuelled on caffeine.

Leave a Reply

