Posted in Uncategorized

My last article for OPENWIDE

The cover of OPENWIDE volume 14 issue 5

I present to you, the final issue of the year for OPENWIDE zine! For those of you who don’t know, it’s the alternative student publication for the Faculty of Information and Media Studies at Western University. We will accept writers from other programs at the campus, however. My article “Thanking the Academy: Legitimacy of Oscar Votes” can be found here.

If you’re a Western student, and would like to get involved with OPENWIDE, we are looking for our incoming editorial team! Click here for the application.

Now, this publication is special to me, because it was the first one I was ever published in. Back when I was an awkward freshman, I wrote an article about the truth of music sales. It’s been my goal since I was 16 to become a published journalist, but I never thought it would happen during my first two months of university. I’ve been crazy involved with other campus media since, but I would still submit my writing to the publication when I could. Today, I am the outgoing Web Editor. As I leave, I’d like to say I’m really proud of what the publication’s become. I’m even more proud to be part of FIMS!

Author:

Freelance writer fuelled on caffeine.

Leave a Reply

